Results of full council meeting

Thank you to everyone who was able to attend County Hall yesterday and listen to proceeding as they took place.

The motion put forward by councillors from the Liberal Democrats & Labour was as follows:

Council regrets the opening of consultations on the future of Children’s Centres before the proposals were agreed for consultation by the Children’s Services Committee. Council also regrets the refusal of the chair/vice chair of the committee to hold a special meeting to address this. In the absence of a Committee decision there is no authority to begin consultation on such a significant service alteration.

Council further notes that annual premises costs for Children’s Centres is £1.01 million. The consultation does not make clear where the further £4 million cut will come from.Council resolves to suspend its Early Childhood and Family Service consultation and to rewrite it to provide a more balanced and accurate reflection of the council’s proposals following deliberation and decision by the Children’s Services Committee or Policy and Resources Committee.

What’s being asked for here is more transparency with the details. The proposals don’t contain enough information for people to make informed decisions and understand how these changes will affect them.

During the meeting, it transpired both the leader of the council, Andrew Proctor & the new chairman of Children’s services committee, Stuart Dark have never visited a childrens centre.

After council had their debate, (we will cover more on this in a podcast) a vote was held for all councillors.
For – 23 (Supporting the motion put forward to suspend consultation)
Against – 43 (Against the idea of suspending the consultation)
Abstain – 1 (Not willing to vote)

We have compiled a list of how each councillor voted. We would encourage you to contact your local councillor if you are unhappy with the way they voted, after all – they do represent you!

Name Party Ward E-Mail Address Telephone Number Voted
Timothy Adams Liberal Democrats Cromer timothy.adams.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01263 837119 FOR
Tony Adams Conservatives Drayton & Horsford anthony.adams.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 405367 AGAINST
Steffan Aquarone Liberal Democrats Guiltcross steffan.aquarone.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07879 451608 FOR
Stephen Askew Conservatives Melton Constable stephen.askew.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07990 531771 AGAINST
Jess Barnard Labour Nelson jess.barnard.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679303 FOR
Bill Borrett Conservatives Elmham & Mattishall bill.borrett.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01362 860200 AGAINST
Claire Bowes Conservatives Watton claire.bowes.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01760 756318 AGAINST
Roy Brame Conservatives Thetford East roy.brame.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07788 381765 AGAINST
Julie Brociek-Coulton Labour Sewell julie.brociek-coulton.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07786 694325 FOR
Sarah Butikofer Liberal Democrats Holt sarah.butikofer.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 680371 FOR
Mick Castle Independent Yarmouth North & Central mick.castle.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07966 798928 FOR
Michael Chenery of Horsbrugh Conservatives Docking michael.chenery.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07920 286638 AGAINST
Stuart Clancy Conservatives Taverham stuart.clancy.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 754148 AGAINST
Ed Colman Conservatives Swaffham ed.colman.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk
01362 697397
AGAINST
Ed Connolly Conservatives Yare & All Saints ed.connolly.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07786 028055 AGAINST
Emma Corlett Labour Town Close emma.corlett.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07557 634891 FOR
Stuart Dark Conservatives Dersingham stuart.dark.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679355 AGAINST
Margaret Dewsbury Conservatives Hingham margaret.dewsbury.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 759693 AGAINST
Nigel Dixon Conservatives Hoveton & Stalham nigel.dixon.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 783885 AGAINST
Danny Douglas Labour Mancroft danny.douglas.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679382 FOR
Phillip Duigan Conservatives Dereham South phillip.duigan.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01362 692443 AGAINST
Fabian Eagle Conservatives The Brecks fabian.eagle.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679838 AGAINST
Tim East Liberal Democrats Costessey tim.east.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 743241 FOR
Simon Eyre Conservatives Freebridge Lynn simon.eyre.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679860 AGAINST
John Fisher Conservatives Woodside john.fisher.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 432838 AGAINST
Tom Fitzpatrick Conservatives Fakenham tom.fitzpatrick.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07803 166293 AGAINST
Colin Foulger Conservatives Forehoe colin.foulger.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01953 789408 AGAINST
Andy Grant Conservatives Lothingland andy.grant.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07833 083903 AGAINST
Ron Hanton Conservatives East Flegg ron.hanton.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01493 720070 AGAINST
Harry Humphrey Conservatives Marshland South harry.humphrey.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01945 430539 AGAINST
Brian Iles Conservatives Acle brian.iles.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01493 393224 AGAINST
Andrew Jamieson Conservatives North Coast andrew.jamieson.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679902 AGAINST
Terry Jermy Labour Thetford West terry.jermy.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01842 630851 AGAINST
Brenda Jones Labour Lakenham brenda.jones2.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679915 FOR
Chris Jones Labour Thorpe Hamlet chris.jones3.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679932 FOR
Alexandra Kemp Independent Clenchwarton & Kings Lynn South alexandra.kemp.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07920 286636 FOR
Keith Kiddie Conservatives Diss & Roydon keith.kiddie.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01379 644750 AGAINST
Mark Kiddle-Morris Conservatives Necton and Launditch mark.kiddle-morris.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01328 701370 AGAINST
Brian Long Conservatives Fincham brian.long.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07885 258448 AGAINST
Ian Mackie Conservatives Thorpe St Andrew ian.mackie.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 454122 AGAINST
Edward Maxfield Liberal Democrats Mundesley edward.maxfield.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07449 706215 FOR
Graham Middleton Conservatives Gayton & Nar Valley graham.middleton.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07946 309655 AGAINST
Joe Mooney Conservatives Wymondham joe.mooney.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01953 604482 AGAINST
Steve Morphew Labour Catton Grove steve.morphew.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 409419 FOR
George Nobbs Labour Crome george.nobbs.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 611406 FOR
Judy Oliver Conservatives Sheringham judy.oliver.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01263 511048 AGAINST
Graham Plant Conservatives Gorleston St Andrews graham.plant.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07880 091753 AGAINST
Richard Price Conservatives South Smallburgh richard.price.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01263 834874 AGAINST
Andrew Proctor Conservatives Blofield & Brundall andrew.proctor.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 715659 AGAINST
William Richmond Conservatives Dereham North william.richmond.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01362 860269 AGAINST
Daniel Roper Liberal Democrats Hevingham & Spixworth daniel.roper.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07920 441970 FOR
David Rowntree Labour University david.rowntree.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 679993 FOR
Mike Sands Labour Bowthorpe mike.sands.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 594995 FOR
Eric Seward Liberal Democrats North Walsham East eric.seward.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01692 403784 FOR
Carl Smith Conservatives Breydon carl.smith2.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01493 662176 AGAINST
Mike Smith-Clare Labour Yarmouth Nelson & Southown mike.smith-clare.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07502 998036 FOR
Beverley Spratt Conservatives West Depwade beverley.spratt.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01508 489746 AGAINST
Sandra Squire Independent Marshland North sandra.squire.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07817 160725 ABSTAIN
Barry Stone Conservatives Loddon barry.stone.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01508 499389 AGAINST
Haydn Thirtle Conservatives West Flegg haydn.thirtle.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01493 368250 AGAINST
Alison Thomas Conservatives Long Stratton alison.thomas.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07920 286603 AGAINST
John Timewell Liberal Democrats North Walsham West & Erpingham john.timewell.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07450 680879 FOR
Karen Vincent Conservatives Old Catton karen.vincent2.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 07881 365238 AGAINST
Colleen Walker Labour Magdalen colleen.walker.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01493 782272 FOR
John Ward Conservatives Sprowston john.ward.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 431146 AGAINST
Brian Watkins Liberal Democrats Eaton brian.watkins.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01603 259306 FOR
Tony White Conservatives Downham Market anthony.white.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01366 502133 AGAINST
Martin Wilby Conservatives East Depwade martin.wilby.cllr@norfolk.gov.uk 01379 741504 AGAINST

Leave a comment